translation-17 right-arrow Artboard 1 information login warning-11 magnifier-1 Artboard 1 house paper-plane Artboard 1 newsletter triangle email call-answer pin close arrow Quicklinks

Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir

School Logo


Primary School

learning together, achieving forever

Information about our Year Groups

Longfield's Learning Environment

Longfield Primary is a three form entry school (there are 3 classes in each year group).  The education for your child is split into three different stages:

  • Foundation Stage: Nursery & Reception
  • Key Stage One: Years 1 and 2
  • Key Stage Two: Years 3,4,5 and 6

We are very privileged to have a large site that accommodate two playgrounds, a basket ball court, a play area, a MUGA, a field, a pond and an outdoor amphitheatre.  Internally the building is on two levels, ground floor and first floor.  We have excellent facilities including an ICT suite, a library, two halls, a music room, a Design Technology room, a community room and a kitchen where hot school meals are cooked on site.

We are located within easy walking distance of Rayners Lane tube station and its amenities.

Learning and the Curriculum

The Governing Body and staff believe that the curriculum at Longfield Primary School must be broad, balanced and relevant.

The curriculum is planned to provide coherence and continuity of key skills across key stages with the needs of the learner at the centre of the practice.

In planning the curriculum we aim to make the learning challenging, interesting and creative through following the statutory curriculum.


Foundation Stage: Nursery & Reception

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum has seven areas of learning: 

1.    Personal, Social & Emotional Development

2.    Communication & Language

3.    Mathematics

4.    Literacy

5.    Understanding the World

6.    Physical Development

7.    Expressive Art & Design

Key Stage One: Years 1 and 2

Key Stage Two: Years 3,4,5 and 6

The National Curriculum subjects are as follows:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Science
  • Information & Communication Technology (ICT)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Art & Design
  • Design & Technology
  • Music
  • Personal, Social, Health & Citizenship Education (PSHCE)
  • Modern Foreign Language (MFL)